Manageable Crises

November 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

I attempted to drive into town yesterday to get some things to make some stew for my sister who is about to have a child. On my way back I was caught in a snowstorm and Suzy, my beloved old Camry, flew off the road, through a fence and into a ditch. I didn’t have my cell phone with me, so I got out and started walking down this rural county highway, under-dressed for the weather, until a dude in a jeep picked me up. He offered me a traveler beer, saying it seemed I could use one. I could.

I finally got my car out of the ditch. It wasn’t so bad, actually. In fact it was kind of fun. Actual crises have actual solutions and are manageable in a way that existential ones just aren’t. If only there were AAA for my soul.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Manageable Crises at Maps and Clocks.

meta

